Track and Field: Motivated for ECAC Championship


By Thomas Scott

Last weekend Union’s track team went to Canton, N.Y. to participate in the New York State Collegiate Track Conference. The Dutchmen won 11th place overall.

Jesse Coull ‘16 earned fifth place for his 15:34.75 finish in the 5,000-meter run category.

Tosin Kazeem ‘15 managed sixth place in the 100-meter dash with a time of 11.43 seconds. Ricco Pierre ‘16 took 16th place for his time of 11.82 in the same category.

Vinnie Vivenzio ‘14 earned ninth place in the hammer and shot put. He threw the hammer a distance of 41.25 meters. Alex Papalian ‘14 managed to place 15th after throwing the hammer a distance of 40.36 meters. Dylan Schuck ‘14 made a leap of 6.24 meters, earning him ninth place in the long jump category. Kyle Tevlin ‘15 threw the javelin 44.95 meters, which earned him 15th place in that category.

The Dutchwomen did not make the final overall rankings. However, Bonnie Deyo ‘16 placed 18th in the long jump category with a mark of 9.72 meters. Bethany Crowe ‘13 took part in the 100-meter hurdle and managed a time of 16.76 seconds in that category. Katherine Pouliot ‘16 threw the javelin 26.79 meters, but that distance prevented her from placing in the finals.

Pouliot also participated in the discus throw. She managed to place 17th with a distance of 26.79 meters. Madeline Frieze ‘15 also participated in the event. Jennifer Vantrella ‘16 earned 18th place in the 3,000-meter steeplechase.

Comparatively, last year Frieze, along with Cydnee Somera ‘15, Hannah Najar ‘15 and Judy Horan ‘12 earned sixth place in the 4×100 meter relay, setting a time of 52.96 seconds.  At the same event, Jessica Singer ‘12 took home 11th place for the pole vault after making a jump of 2.8 meters.

The weekend after next, the outdoor track team will take part in the ECAC Championships.

Both the indoor and outdoor track team have had to cope with antiquated facilities for quite some time. Often times the team has to venture to events hosted at other schools in order to participate in events.

The championship title went to RPI for the men’s and Ithaca college for the women’s. The two teams have won the championship for the past two years.



Leave a Reply