Food: On following the Kosher diet

0
53

By Tess Skoller

In the Jewish religion, there are foods considered “kosher” that are prepared in accordance with Jewish dietary laws. These laws state that pork, rabbit, eagles, owl, catfish, sturgeon, and any shellfish, insect or reptile are deemed non-kosher. The laws also state that other species of meat must be slaughtered in a certain way, and dairy and meat are not to be consumed together.

Alyssa Feldman ’13 as one of the 350 Jewish students on campus (hillel.org) chooses to keep kosher while she is at college. “From learning more as I got older, I decided that I wanted to do it,” said Feldman about the decision to keep kosher. “But I grew up kosher in my home, and when I was old enough I decided I wanted to do it outside of the home also.”

As for adjusting to being kosher while at school without the comfort of her kitchen at home? She normally ops for the vegetarian or vegan options that the dining halls offer. While the dining halls don’t cater specifically for kosher students, Feldman finds that Hillel and Chabad both provide satisfying kosher meals to fulfill her dietary restrictions.

“It was challenging at first, but I think I have acclimated well to it,” she commented on adjusting to coming to college with her restrictions. “It just took a little while for me to figure out where good things to eat were, and to keep my diet balanced but once I did that I’ve been fine and everything’s been manageable,” she said.

NO COMMENTS

Leave a Reply