Men’s, women’s crew see success, defeat



The men’s and women’s crew teams have both enjoyed positive spring seasons which will wrap up this weekend for the Dutchwomen, as they compete in the New York State Collegiate Championships, and next weekend for the Dutchmen, as they travel north to take on St. Lawrence. After spending spring break training in Oak Ridge, Tennessee, both teams opened competition against Vassar on April 9. The Dutchmen raced two boats in the Varsity Eight race and one boat in the Novice Four race, while the Dutchwomen sent a Varsity Eight and a Junior Varsity Eight to compete. On the men’s side, the team came out with wins in the Varsity Eight and Novice Four races, while the women were closely swept in both of their contests. Next, both teams hosted RPI for a day of competition in which the Dutchmen and Dutchwomen dominated. Both teams came out on top in the Varsity Eight and Second Varsity Eight races and the Dutchmen also pulled out a win in the Varsity Four event. Off of these strong performances, both teams traveled to Hamilton’s boat house in Rome, NY for the twenty-first annual Gilman Cup ’63 races. Solid Hamilton squads on both sides proved to be tough opponents for the Dutchmen and Dutchwomen as the Continentals swept all events except for the Women’s Varsity Four contest. This boat, consisting of coxswain Julianne Finley ’18, stroke Vanessa Raskin ’19, Alyson Insero ’18, Hadley Richards ’17 and Megan Lepore ’20, finished the race in an impressive eight minutes flat, a performance that earned the Dutchwomen Liberty League Boat of the Week honors. Most recently, both teams competed in the Liberty League Championships, hosted in Saratoga Springs. Impressive performances came from the Men’s Varsity Eight, consisting of coxswain Eric Lombeyda ’19, stroke Ian MacKellar ’20, Marcello Agnitti ’20, Matt Reinhardt ’17, Ben Beckwith ’19, Quentin Cachon ’20, Thomas Walker ’20, Liam Doherty ’19 and Tommy Gagliardi ’19, who notched a third-place finish with a time of 6:58.4, just 11 seconds behind the victor, Hobart, and the Women’s Novice Four, consisting of coxswain Rachel Clarey ’18, stroke Grace Yotts ’20, Olivia Zimmerman ’20, Linda Liang ’19 and Megan Lepore ’20, who won their two-boat race by a nail-biting three seconds.


Leave a Reply