Women’s Lacrosse falls in Liberty League semifinals

The Dutchmen celebrate their second ever Liberty League championship. Union defeated RPI in the Liberty Leauge Championship game 8-6 on May 15, going 3-0 overall in the tournament. (Courtesy of Union Athletics)

After a very strong regular season, the women’s lacrosse team was unable to fight their way to the Liberty League Championship, losing in the semifinals to Skidmore on May 6.

Entering the game, the Dutchwomen were 11-4 overall and 8-1 in league play. The team had won back-to-back games coming into the contest and were looking to advance to their third straight Liberty League Championship.

Additionally, this would have been the team’s ninth Liberty League tournament appearance in the last 10 years.

However, out of the gates, Skidmore had plans for a different story. The Thoroughbreds opened the scoring quickly in the first half with three goals to take an early lead on the Dutchwomen.

Yet, Union responded as midfielder Jessica Farland ’16 netted two of her four goals of the day, along with one more goal coming from Jackie Hagopian ’17 to tie the game. Even with the fight from the Dutchwomen, Skidmore led 7-4 by the end of the first half with a notable 24-9 advantage in shots.

After battling with the Thoroughbreds early in the second half, the score stood at 8-6 with Union goals coming from Cailin Pandolfi ’18 and Farland.

Then, Maggie Comiskey ’16, a recent selection to the IWLCA All-Region Team, was able to find the back of the net on her twenty-sixth goal of the year to bring Union within one.

By the end the game, the Thoroughbreds had outshot the Dutchwomen by a tally of 32-19, but the play of All-Tournament goalie Jen Hughes’ 17 gave Union a fighting chance.

However, the game ended with the two sides trading goals, with Farland netting her 26th goal of the season to bring it back to within one. Unfortunately, that was as close as the Dutchwomen would get.

Union, ranked twentieth in Division III at the time lost at a final score of 9-8 to Skidmore, who would go on to lose the Liberty League championship to William Smith.

In other news for the Dutchwomen, seven team members were named Liberty League All-Stars for their performances in the 2016 season.

The selections included first team recognition for Comiskey and Farland, second team recognition for Kate Kurchena ’16 and Paige Smith ‘16, as well as honorable mention selections for Pandolfi, Kellie Cronin ’19 and Natalie Sullivan ’17.

The team will graduate seven seniors in June, but still hopes to take the next step forward and compete for a Liberty League Championshp in 2017.


Leave a Reply